Forums General Truffle Discussion Truffle Demand

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Michael Zablocki
      Participant

Hello, I am new to truffles and have begun to explore the market potential in my local area in southern Ontario, Canada. Some of the restaurants I have approached have not been interested in locally grown truffles, and are more interested in imported Italian truffles, or canned truffles.

In light of this, I wonder who everyone is selling to. Do you sell to local restaurants, online, or to some type of food distributor? As well, have you found that there is weaker demand for truffles that are not the black perigord or white truffles?

It would be interesting to have an open conversation about whether demand for truffles is higher, or even lower than what you expected.

Any info you could share is appreciated. Thank you!

Fabrice Caporal
        Keymaster
          Up
          Down
          ::

Michael, I don’t have first hand experience, but have discussed the matter with several people with that experience. I short it boils down to education with product in hand. Potential buyers are used to one source and are rarely ready to experiment, however when they are presented with the new product and suggested to try they quickly realize that freshness always trumps origin and in some circumstance may even trump price.

For species other than T. melanosporum and T. magnatum they need to have the opportunity to try for themselves and then they realize that they are not only potential substitute but they become an additional tool in their belt.

Michael Zablocki
          Participant
            Up
            Down

Fabrice, I really appreciate your reply. I also wonder if there are any food distribution companies that might be interested. That way you don’t have a lot of small buyers, but instead have some larger customers. I know some restaurants near me buy from a company called MGM truffles. Just a thought.